Open events

Education: The key to reconciliation

Event #1458
Education: The key to reconciliation

Saturday, May 26, 2018

10:30 - 12:00
Add to your calendar

Education Auditorium - EA 106

Who can attend: 
General public
This open event is hosted by: 
University of Regina

Perry Bellegarde was elected as the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) on December 10, 2014, after a career spent making measurable progress on the issues that matter most to First Nations people. First elected as Councillor and then Chief of Little Black Bear First Nation, Treaty 4 Territory, he also served as Tribal Chair of the Touchwood-File Hills-Qu'Appelle Tribal Council, and as Chief of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) and Saskatchewan Regional Chief for the Assembly of First Nations.

National Chief Bellegarde is a strong advocate for the implementation of Inherent Aboriginal and Treaty Rights. He has made presentations at national and international levels in many forums, including at the United Nations Committee for Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) and various United Nations bodies on the subject of the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

In 1984, Perry Bellegarde became the first Treaty Indian to graduate from the University of Regina with a Bachelor of Administration. In 2012, he completed Certified Corporate Board Training through The Directors College sponsored by the Conference Board of Canada and McMaster University's DeGroote School of Business. National Chief Bellegarde is the recipient of the Queen’s Jubilee Medal (2012), Saskatchewan Medal (2005), Queen’s Jubilee Medal (2002) and Confederation Medal (1992). He has been honoured by several Chiefs and Elders who have acknowledged him as their adopted son, and he honours them by carrying their teachings forward as he works toward the implementation of Inherent, Aboriginal and Treaty rights, self-determination and a shared vision for a more just and inclusive Canada.

Speakers: National Chief Perry Bellegarde, Assembly of First Nations